Why I Don’t Watch Movies (Why I Don’t Series Pt. 1)

A month or so ago I was with some friends and one of them was saying how they loved horror movies. So I asked, “What’s so great about them?” I wasn’t meaning to be rude, I just wanted to know what it was that she so loved about movies that scared her. She sat there staring at me like I had two heads, and a moment later replied something like this: “Umm…they’re life.”

I just said “okay…” and left it at that.

To be honest, I was left speechless.

I was trying to wrap my mind around what the person had just told me, and making sure they weren’t being sarcastic.

Then, I got to thinking. This is the world we live in. We look to anything and everything and think it brings us true joy. Whether that be movies, tv shows, even food!

We often think these things give us life.

I know multiple people who have told me that they are loving or obsessed with a certain movie, and it makes me feel sad for them.

They don’t realize what their joy should be put in. This goes back to the title of this post: why I don’t watch movies. You may have read the title and then thought, “what?! This girl must be crazy!!” Please hear me out. Here are a few reasons why I don’t watch many mainstream movies.

  • They don’t set my mind on things above

Colossians 3:2 says: Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.

One reason I don’t watch movies that are high-action, murder, horror, etc. is because they get my mind on the wrong things. They don’t have me thinking of God and His love, grace, and mercy, but instead have my mind thinking about the actors, the scariness and darkness of the movie, etc. If the movies have me focused on something that is not of God, I choose to refrain from watching. We often don’t realize that what we’re watching has such an affect on us, but it does.

  • Movies and things of the world will pass away

If you were to watch a movie today, what would it do for you tomorrow? Sure, you can say you watched it, but in the end, what will it do for you? James 4:14 says: yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Our lives can end at any time. What will you choose to spend your time on? Murder movies? Action movies? Looking up all the details about all the actors and all the plots of the movies? What will movie and upcoming movie knowledge do for you when you’re gone from this earth? Will it benefit you when you’re with Jesus one day?

  • We often watch movies for “me time”

When we’re watching movies, we’re often taking “me time” as the world often encourages us to do. Yes, taking care of yourself and your body is a great thing to do. However, when you’re tired and worn down, God wants you to come to Him, not to movies. Psalm 61:2 says: from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I… God has been personally convicting my heart to watch less tv and movies, and spend that time on other things, spending time with Him, or doing things for others. He’s shown me to give up certain movies I was watching, and when I first thought this, I thought it’d be super hard to give them up. To be completely honest with you, I haven’t missed them at all! I’ve been fully content!

To wrap things up, I want to tell you something. I’m not telling you not to watch any TV, and that all movies are bad. No, definitely not! I still watch a bit of TV and movies.

My main point here is to be careful what you let into your mind.

We often don’t realize at first, but those things do affect us. What we watch has a direct influence on our lives and how we behave. Ask the Lord to examine you to see if what you are letting into your mind is pure and holy, or if it is unholy and defiled.

Lastly, please remember that Christ is the only One who gives you life. He is the only One that you need.

Without movies, you could live. Without TV, you could live. He gives you life, and without Him, you couldn’t live. Know that in light of the Lord and all He’s done for you, movies and things are fleeting and passing away.

What do you think about this topic? In what ways are you looking to movies to bring you joy and contentment? Will you ask God to search your heart and see if you are watching movies that aren’t holy?

Photo cred: https://stocksnap.io/photo/VNLK86FXI3

7 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Watch Movies (Why I Don’t Series Pt. 1)

  1. Thank you Caitlyn you expressed my thoughts in reference to Rubbish in Rubbish out , it’s been over 7 years since I watched T.V and like you with Movies, I have not missed it and instead I have also invested my time in knowing and sharing God’s Truth.

    I look forward to reading more of your messages Caitlyn, God Bless you greatly for your Saltiness, will it make you one of the most popular Bloggers No! but your Treasure will be piling up in Heaven, yes you will be Spiritually Rich and continue to know God’s Peace and inner Joy.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, Caitlyn, thanks so much for doing this post. I myself feel the same way you do, and am so encouraged to see you speak out about it!! God Bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

