Why I Don’t Celebrate Halloween (Why I Don’t Series Pt. 2)

So, after posting Why I Don’t Watch Movies last week, I wanted to start a “Why I Don’t…” series.

This time, I’m talking about why I don’t celebrate Halloween.

Lots of Christians celebrate Halloween and think it’s perfectly fine. They go trick-or-treating, and dress up, etc.

Basically, it’s a day to celebrate dark things. Ghosts, bats, evil pumpkins, you name it.

I have a question for all of you. Would God want us to celebrate this? Would He want us to dress up in gross costumes and celebrate the spooky, dark, and scary things? Is this a Godly thing to do?  I mentioned this verse in my last post, but it explains it well.

Colossians 3:2 – Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

If you think about it, that verse basically gives us a good reason enough. I’m going to give you all a few reasons why I don’t celebrate Halloween.

  • It puts our focus on scary, dark, things, instead of on life.

Halloween may be fun in a sense and you can say “oh, it’s just for fun!”. But really, the reason for it is to be scary and dark. Honestly, what’s the point of celebrating the darkness? As Jamie Morgan said, “God is a God of life, but Halloween focuses on death.” (http://www.charismanews.com/opinion/52738-why-christians-absolutely-should-not-celebrate-Halloween) I say amen to that. God wants us to focus on Him and on things of Him (as mentioned in the verse above.)

  • Fear is the foundation of Halloween

God hasn’t given us a spirit of fear (2 Timothy 1:7), so why focus on things that make you fearful? The same is true for scary movies/horror movies – why focus on things that scare you? God doesn’t want us to focus on those things.

  • Participating in evil things is wrong

Romans 16:19 says: Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I rejoice because of you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil.

Lots of people may think that if they/their kids dress in cute costumes that aren’t scary, what harm is done then?

God says that participating in any evil is still evil. Period.

As Christians, we need to be innocent and pure in our hearts, minds, and spirits and not let anything dark and evil in. This means that participating in Halloween is evil. Period. There’s no excuses we can make. Alternatives to Halloween, in my opinion, are still wrong. They’re simply something to replace Halloween, which is something that we shouldn’t even focus on in the first place.

If this wasn’t enough to convince you, please read this article: http://www.charismanews.com/opinion/52738-why-christians-absolutely-should-not-celebrate-halloween

Photo cred: https://stocksnap.io/photo/M059E39Y08

13 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Celebrate Halloween (Why I Don’t Series Pt. 2)

  1. I hate all of the scary stuff around this time of year! Why purposefully subject ourselves to fear when God is peace, love, and joy. Thank you for sharing this, sister.

    Also I loved your post about movies. My husband and I cut our cable off and mostly listen online to sermons, worship music and conservative talk radio. Sadly, most movies and television shows these days glorify sin and it is so important that we be careful what we let into our minds and how we spend our free time.

    Love your blog, sister!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Amen sister, I hear you all the way! My family has never celebrated Halloween, I never really asked my father why exactly but now when someone asks I know what I will tell them. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know this post is old, but I’ve been looking through your archives (and thoroughly enjoying myself!) and came across this one. I think I remember reading it when it came out too… anyway! I just wanted to say that I totally agree with you and think it’s so neat you wrote about this subject as it can stir up a lot of debates between Christians. We have folks in my church that don’t celebrate and some that love it. I posted on this same subject last Fall ( https://shepherdshandmaiden.wordpress.com/2016/10/31/reformation-day/ ).
    I love your blog, Caitlyn! Keep writing and sharing your amazing lessons.
    ~Aly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

