Undivided Focus

Focus. Such a small word, but with such great meaning. I just Googled what the word focus means, and here’s the first definition that came up:

Focus: the center of interest or activity.

Wow. To focus on God means more than to think about Him, but for Him to take the center stage in our lives and to be our all-in-all. To focus on Jesus means that He is the center of all our interests, and all that we do each day. He is the reason we can wake up smiling each morning, the reason we breathe, the reason we smile and laugh until our stomachs hurt.

So, how do we have an undivided focus?

It seems like it should be easy, but with all that goes in our life, it can get hard, I know. One of my favorite verses that I used a lot in my “Why I Don’t” series is Colossians 3:2. It says:

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

I think such an important par to having undivided focus is by starting our days by reading the Word. Our days can be so full, and we can go into that with the wrong mindset. Making the choice to praise God as soon as you wake up is life-changing. It helps you to see God in your life, rather than all your obligations and such.

Another thing is to realize how many blessings the Lord has poured out on you.

Look around you. Look outside. Look at your family, your friends. See the world, it’s beauty as the leaves turn and fall in the autumn. The beauty of it all, slowing down to see God each day. The gift that it is to live, and to see and hear and experience life.

One thing that I will do sometimes is at the end of the day, write a list of 10 things I’m grateful for that day. It is so encouraging and refreshing! Even if you have a terrible day, you can look over and review and see how God revealed Himself to you that day.

As I write this post, I’m listening to From the Inside Out//For King and Country, and these words kind of go with what I’m trying to say in this post:

Everlasting
Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending
Your glory goes beyond all fame
In my heart and my soul
Lord I give You control
Consume me from the inside out,
Lord, let justice and praise
Become my embrace
To love you from the inside out
Aren’t these lyrics truly amazing? When our life gets full and we feel overwhelmed and we choose to dance and praise and focus on the One who has it all together, He will come to us and give us that true and lasting joy! Choosing to have joy when we don’t feel like it is so important.
Let God have control, let Him consume you from the inside out.
His light shines in the darkest of days. Focus on the King of kings who gave His all for you. There is truly nothing else that deserves your time and focus as much as He does. As we have an attitude of surrender towards Him and realize how great Jesus truly is, our lives will be all about Him. Jesus has done so much for you – why can’t we simply give our lives and our all to Him?
As we go into this next week, I want to encourage you to praise God for something each day. Whether it’s something big or something small, choose to see how God is working in your life and revealing Himself each day.
Let’s each make a commitment to see how God is revealing Himself and showing Himself in the big and the small ways this week. Choose to surrender afresh each day and live your days for Him, for He is worthy.
Also I have a contact page now for those of you who have questions, post ideas, or would like to do a guest post! You can find it on my pages at the bottom of my blog. 🙂
6 thoughts on “Undivided Focus

  1. I really like “One thing that I will do sometimes is at the end of the day, write a list of 10 things I’m grateful for that day.” I want to incorporate this into my life, too. Lord Bless, Keep, Shine. . .

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

