Being Outward Focused

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility, consider others better than yourself. ~ Philippians 2:3

Being selfish and self-centered has been on my mind lately, so I figured I’d write a post about it.

If we’re honest with ourselves, we’re all at least a bit selfish. Let’s see if you can relate to any of these:

When your friends are talking and not including you, you try and butt in on the conversation even though they didn’t include you in the first place.

When you don’t get invited to something, you get jealous.

When your friends forget to wish you happy birthday.

When you fight for the last cookie/piece of pizza/brownie, etc.

Those are only a few examples, but I’m sure we can all relate to at least one (I can!!).

Being outward focused is such an important part of living the Christian life whole-heartedly. But how can we achieve it when our flesh is constantly getting in the way? I don’t know about you, but whenever I feel like I’m getting better at it, I fail once more. We’re human. It happens.

The first thing I want to point out is to die to yourself everyday.

The song Under My Skin by Trading Yesterday says this:

Take away everything, burn away all of me, till all that’s left, is not myself.

What a great attitude of surrender and dying to self! I know it sounds harsh, but we MUST die to self each day. A great way to incorporate this into your life is to wake up each day with an attitude of surrender. Give yourself afresh to Jesus, ask Him to use you as He wills that day.

And then, when oppurtunities come where you have to serve and not be served, or consider others higher than yourself, don’t grumble and complain (I know it’s hard…).

Choose joy. Serve others with strength, for God will enable you.

Lastly, when your friends hang out with other people rather than you/don’t invite you to something/etc, don’t let your eyes turn inward and say, “why aren’t they hanging out with me? Choose to talk to someone else, or wait until there’s a break in the conversation if they’re talking to someone else. If it’s an invitation thing, maybe have  a heart-to-heart with that person if needed.

Intentionally choose to reach out.

When out in public, even if there’s no one you know or not, choose to talk to people you don’t know. Look for chances in your community for outreach. Get involved.

Being outward focused is something that’s always important and that looks good on everyone. Let’s commit to practicing it and dying to ourselves daily.

Photo cred: https://stocksnap.io/photo/SE263QRQIV

Leave a Reply

