Unconditional Love

Hey ya’ll! Today is my second guest post here on Salt and Light! It’s by the inspiring and oh-so-joyful Abby Rose from Truly Beautiful. Go check out her blog!! Worth More Than Gold

“I hate being in this room with all the younger kids like you…” I was on a trip one summer when I experienced for the first time, being bullied. It wasn’t fun. But because I was the “new girl” I hated to complain. So I didn’t confront the leaders. After several more incidents where this girl was unkind to me, I talked to a friend who had witnessed her being this way to me, about it. This girl told me that the young lady that was bullying me, had been through some hard stuff. No, it wasn’t okay she bullied me, but still my God called me to love her.

So I made the hard choice.. Yet the best choice… To love her. To pray for her. To try to encourage her. To let her have the first shower. To open the door for her. To serve her. To forgive her.

Eventually, after this girl had bullied and been unkind to many others…. The leaders talked to her and she apologized. From that point on… She was never mean to me again.. But was very kind. When she apologized… I remember the words she said. “I’m sorry I’ve been so mean to you… I was going through some hard stuff this week and I took it out on you.” What a beautiful opportunity to love her and show her God’s love. None of that would have been possible without God’s love, though. I wouldn’t have been able to serve her, if Jesus had not first set the example for me by washing the disciples feet. I wouldn’t have been able to forgive her, if Jesus had not forgiven those who beat and killed him. Because God’s love for us is so radical, so life-changing, so pure, so selfless, we can TRULY love as he has.

Love is a choice. Love is a choice we must make each day. Just like I had to make the choice to love the girl who bullied me…

We must CHOOSE to talk to that person sitting by themselves at lunch or youth service and show them love, even if we will be laughed at. You must CHOOSE to smile at the lady at the grocery store that was unkind to you and show her love. You must CHOOSE to forgive the friend who betrayed you. THIS is love. That is selfless, forgiving, unconditional love that Jesus covers us in daily. We must CHOOSE to love as Christ has loved us.

1 Corinthians 13 illustrates such a beautiful representation of what kind of love we should have. We can write a book about God, read our Bible every day, write blog posts or volunteer at a food bank, but if we have no love in our heart, it is only “noise” to God.

Love is patient. Love is kind.

Love does not envy or boast and it is not proud. Love does not dishonor others and it is not self seeking. Love is not easily angered and it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not rejoice in evil but in the truth. Love always protects, trusts, hopes and perseveres. Love NEVER fails.

When you choose to sit by that person sitting by themselves, no matter if you are talked about or not, you are choosing to show that love isn’t proud. When you choose to smile at that lady at the grocery store, you are choosing to show that love is kind. When you choose to love the friend who betrayed you, you are choosing to show that love is not self seeking.

Love covers a multitude of sins. {1 Peter 4:8}

Just as God loved us while we were still sinners {Romans 5:8}, we must choose to love those who sin. No one is perfect except God and we all sin and fall short. But God’s grace is sufficient for us all.

The world will constantly try to drag people down and the enemy wants to whisper lies like “you aren’t loved” into our ears, but we must choose to stand out and LOVE others. You never know what someone might be going through.

You may not be loved by everyone, but you will be loved by THE ONE.

And because you are loved by the Great I Am, that is a beautiful reason to love others. { Colossians 3:13-14 } Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do he. And above all these things put on love which is the bond of perfectness.

{ 1 Corinthians 16:14 } Let all things be done with love.

Thanks so much Abby for this beautiful Post!!

Photo credit: Stock Snap

2 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

Leave a Reply

