Choosing to Follow Jesus

So I will wake
And spend days
Loving the One
Who raised me up
From death to life
From wrong to right
You’re making all things beautiful

~ Amanda Cook//Mercy

These lyrics are so beautiful to me. This song is like a simple commitment to live for Jesus and give our all to Him, because He gave His LIFE for US.

Let me ask you something: every day that you wake, do you make that constant choice to follow Jesus?

I don’t know about you, but it’s so easy for me to check my phone  (Instagram, email, etc.) when I wake up instead of pray and read God’s Word. Ugh, it’s like the worst temptation.

But if we simply remember God’s amazing love for us, choosing to follow Him shouldn’t be that hard. Let me remind you that what is on your phone will surely fade. But what you do for Jesus and the time you spend with Him will not.

Here are some practical ways to choose to follow Jesus each and every day.

  • Choose to spend time with Jesus first thing

Don’t pick up your phone in the morning – I know it can be hard – choose to spend time with Jesus. Don’t spend time on anything else but Him.

  • Remember His love for YOU

Dwell on God’s love and remember that nothing else in this world matters besides His love. Listen to some good worship music and memorize verses of God’s love and know that nothing else matters but Jesus. In the end, what’ll matter? Only what you did for Jesus will matter.

  • Give your all to Jesus each day

Surrender to Jesus each day and look at what you do each day in line of His Word. See if what you’re doing is for Him, or yourself. Surrender yourself and your days to Him and allow Him to show you where you need to make changes and spend your time for Him instead. Choose to not spend as much time on social media, watching tv, etc and spend that time with Him.

Trust me, you won’t regret choosing to follow Jesus each and every day.

He loves you so much that He gave His entire life for YOU! You are His precious and beautiful child and He deserves your all. Will you give Him your all?

I’m going to leave you with some verses. Much love ya’ll. ❤

Matthew 7:14 ~But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

Proverbs 3:6 ~ in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

 

Photo cred:https://stocksnap.io/photo/E0HJE1ABWZ

6 thoughts on “Choosing to Follow Jesus

  1. Well put. I like the way you think and write. I pray you continue your diligence and reverence in honoring Jesus. It is worth it for Eternity with our Lord; it is worth it in this life, too.

    I wonder if you’ve every tried setting aside the Sabbath, putting away all work, focusing on the presence of Jesus. Not just study, not just prayer, but doing out-of-the-ordinary things with the Lord. For instance, for two years while in Northern California attending a university, I set aside the Sabbath from all study and work. Friday night at sundown I began, on Saturday morning I might go to breakfast someplace, study a longer passage than usual, and in the afternoon run in the redwoods or along the beach for a good while. Occasionally I might be in community with other, but mostly I spent the time alone with the Lord. This was before cell phones, but today if I were to do the same thing, I’d off the phone completely. It was a wonderful experience. While it sounds legalistic, it wasn’t. If there were things that needed to be accomplished for work or school that couldn’t be put off, I did them. The Sabbath is a day of rest. It is often hard not to rest, especially with a full class schedule and a full work schedule. So honoring the Sabbath in this way really was a blessing.

    Keep up the devotions and the writing.

    Lord Bless, Keep, Shine. . .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks caitlyn for this wonderful post, I agree that God’s love is more important than messages on your cellphone. It’s hard to look at your phone and bible and pick your bible but just remembering God’s love and sacrifice is enough strength to do God’s will.thanks again caitlyn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

