Goals for a New Year

Let’s face it : this year is almost over.

And as I think of this year, I realize only have less than 1 week left of 2016.

To some, like myself, this is startling. To others, scary. And yet, to others, exciting.

Whatever you are feeling, I want to encourage you to not try and set “resolutions” for 2017. I want to encourage you to set goals.

Set goals for your relationship with God.

Please don’t think that I’m putting down resolutions, those are great! It’s just that so often we tend to push aside those resolutions after a couple months, weeks, or even days! Some people set resolutions, and others don’t. But I want to encourage you all to do something different – set goals that you will work towards this year that will bring you closer to Jesus Christ.

Here’s a little story that I’d like to tell you all:

Last year my awesome friend sent me a post by Girl Defined called Smart Girls Set Goals and Work Hard. I read this and was left inspired and pushed to a new standard. I realized that setting goals wasn’t good enough. If I really wanted to honor God with 2016, I needed to set goals for Him. I needed to set those goals and work all year to fulfill them.

No, I did not fulfill all these goals. But however, I grew closer to Jesus and watched myself grow!

Whether you are a guy or a girl, I want to encourage you to please write down goals to grow closer to Jesus this year. For example one of mine was to read the whole Bible. I read the whole New Testament but not the whole Old Testament. Sure, I’m a little disappointed, but I know that in 2017 I will finish it!

Consider your faults, and how you can grow. Ask the Lord to examine you and show you where you need strengthening.

And once you write those goals, if possible write down steps to get to those goals. Work each and every day on your relationship with the Lord. I hope that every day in 2017 is like a sacrifice for the Lord, something that He can smile down upon. I pray that none of your days will be wasted. I know that as you strive to serve Him with 2017, through the good and the bad times, He will be faithful to give you all you need and more. For when you leave this earth I hope the Lord can tell you “well done, good and faithful servant.” For hearing those words is all that truly matters in the end.

All the things we did for the world won’t matter – only what we did for Jesus will.

To end this post, I want to tell you all another story of God’s faithfulness. This year as I’ve drawn closer to the Lord, I’ve been able to make new friends, have new experiences, and have joy like none other! He has been faithful to provide in 2016, leaving me excited to see what He’ll be up to in 2017!!

2 Timothy 2:13 ~ if we are faithless, he remains faithful, for he cannot disown himself.

Psalm 34:4-9 ~  I sought the Lord, and he answered me;
    he delivered me from all my fears.

Those who look to him are radiant;

    their faces are never covered with shame.

This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;

    he saved him out of all his troubles.

The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,

    and he delivers them.

Taste and see that the Lord is good;

    blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.

Fear the Lord, you his holy people,

    for those who fear him lack nothing.

Psalm 23 ~ The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters,

    he refreshes my soul.

He guides me along the right paths

    for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk

    through the darkest valley,[a]

I will fear no evil,

    for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

    in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil;

    my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me

    all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord

    forever.

Much love to you guys, talk to you in 2017!

Photo cred: https://stocksnap.io/photo/WHWZKYQSDR

Leave a Reply

