{ L O V E } Fruits of the Spirit Series

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MY AWESOME READERS! I hope that you all have a blessed year full of Jesus and that you will draw closer to Him in 2017 than ever before!

When thinking about what I wanted my 1st post of 2017 to be,  I thought about joy. But then the Lord laid the Fruits of the Spirit on my heart. I think we sometimes neglect applying these beautifully important qualities to our lives (myself included haha). So for a while we’ll be going over these!

Galatians 5:22-23 says: But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 

All of these are so important for a Christian to incorporate into their lives!!

Anyhow, today I’d like to talk about love. Here are a few scriptures that mention love:

1 Corinthians 13:13 says:And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Jeremiah 31:3 says: The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.

Love is such an important thing to work on! In the first verse above it says that out of faith, hope, and love (all important!) love is most important. It is how the world will see that we are different, that we’re set apart from this lost and loveless world.

I’d also like to highlight that Jesus has loved us with an everlasting love. Let’s face it: we’re called to love others. It’s a HUGE part of being a believer and a Christian. Sometimes, it’s very hard to love others. But if we remember Jeremiah 31:3 and how God loves us with an everlasting love and sees us as priceless, we can learn to see others through His eyes. I know that there are so many people who are annoying and who are rude to you for no reason.

Please remember this: God saw you in your ugliness, your unworthiness, and He chose to love you. Please make the choice to love others. Surrender yourself to Jesus afresh. Ask Him to help you love the unlovable and unloved of this world. Know that love is a sacrifice, a choice. We must wake up each day and proclaim: I WILL CHOOSE TO LOVE ALL TODAY!

Lastly I know it may not make sense when someone is very rude to you and you’ve never done anything wrong to them. Know that they are most likely going through something that you cannot see. And keep on pouring out the life-changing love on them. I know it can be hard, but in Jesus you can do all things! Philippians 4:13 says: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Any goals for 2017? I’d love to hear them, you can leave them in the comments below! Also, how will you choose to love? Will you make the commitment with me?

Photo cred: https://stocksnap.io/photo/3782ESEXXM

Leave a Reply

