{ J O Y } Fruits of the Spirit Series

Welcome to the 2nd post in the Fruit of the Spirits series! If you missed my first post on love please check it out here.

First off, I want to tell you something about joy – it looks good on everyone. No matter who you are or what you are going through, you can choose joy!

This is so off topic hehe but the other day I was watching Cinderella and afterwards I wondered what qualities about her made the prince fall in love without barely knowing her.

I believe one of them was joy.

A beautiful quality to have is the quality of joy – making every situation a reason to smile. Purposefully looking for the good in each day, and even in the bad days, remembering God’s goodness and choosing to be happy.

Here are a few things that, in my opinion describe joy.

Joy is…

a commitment

a choice

hard at times

beautiful

your strength

seeing the good when all around you is bad

praising God when your life is confusing

not letting your feelings define how you act

I’ve been reading Uninvited by Lysa Terkeurst and one thing that hit home is this – God is good, always. Therefore, our feelings and emotions have no place to stand. We can always be strong, and be joyful, no matter what our situations look like.

I just want to remind any and all who are reading this how great our God is. Ya’ll, He is literally so great that you can’t even process in your mind how great He is! He has great plans for you (Jeremiah 29:11), He looks down on you and sees a priceless jewel, and lastly, He knitted you together in your mom’s womb and you are fearfully and wonderfully made! (Psalm 139:14)

My darling, remember God’s love for you. If you are struggling, if you are facing hardships, remember how He showed the greatest love the world has ever known by dying for YOU. Choose joy today. Choose to reach out to others. Don’t let your feelings fuel you. Lysa Terkeurst says in Uninvited: “the mind feasts what it focuses on.”

Here are some ways to apply joy:

When you wake up, quote scriptures of joy. Here are some that are on my headboard that I love:

Proverbs 17:22 – A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Psalm 118:24 – Today is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Listen to upbeat music. As I write this I’m dancing in my seat to Joy by Jonny Diaz

Another great one is Celebrate by Rend Collective.

Lastly, when your feelings start to get you down, remember what Christ has done and the fact that you can smile! Don’t let the devil get you down, my friend, CHOOSE JOY! 😀 😀

Photo cred: here

6 thoughts on “{ J O Y } Fruits of the Spirit Series

  1. Ok, I know I’m late in reading this, but I still wanted to comment. This is SUCH a great post! I try to choose joy when things aren’t going my way or I’m not in a very good mood (I try to be joyful all the time, of course, but “choose joy” is often on my mind when I need God’s help). Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had an ahha moment reading your blog when you said god is always good. It’s not that I think or believe god is ever bad but I never made that distinction so clearly. I’m writing a blog because I have always had spiritual guidance but didn’t understand it. I guess many would call it intuition but for me god’s voice speaks thru intuition, etc. Now I can release the fear around the messages because, as you made clear, god is always good! https://unbreakablejoy.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

