To Watch or Not to Watch?

This has been something on my heart as I’ve heard more news about Beauty and the Beast coming out today.

I don’t know whether or not you know, but there are a few scenes in this movie in which homosexuality is shown. (I haven’t seen it but have read a couple of amazing reviews)

Christians are having an inward debate on whether they should or shouldn’t see it. Some, like myself, are choosing to not see it. Others, are saying that they will still see it because “the gay scenes are very subtle” or “it’s my favorite movie”.

But my question for you is this: if it is conflicting with your morals, then will you still go see it?

2 Peter 1:5 says this: But also for this very reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge,

Virtue is a word that stuck out to me as I studied this verse with some friends today.

{ V I R T U E } behavior showing high moral standards.

As Christians, God calls us to have high standards. We are told in Romans 12:1-2 to not go with the flow of this world, running alongside sinners. We are called to a higher, set-apart standard. We are called to have high standards, to not watch every movie that comes out, to not listen to every song on the radio. We are called to make our lives all about Jesus.

So, going back to Beauty and the Beast, and movies in general. We always have a question and that is : to watch or not to watch? And I cannot  make that decision for you. Only you can.

What I can tell you is this. Search your heart. Ask yourself if it is really worth your time and money. Will this movie change your life? Will it help you in your relationship with Christ? Is it worth spending your time and money on? Will you have a bad conscience if you watch it?

And lastly, here is my reason for choosing not to see this movie and most movies that come out.

Around last year at this time, I started to watch Marvel superhero movies because a lot of my friends encouraged me to. At first, I was ok with them. I actually really liked them and wanted to watch more.

Then I went to see Civil War with some friends. After that, my mom and I talked off and on about it, and whether I should keep watching these movies. I felt that I left the theater with violence and sinful thoughts in my mind from that movie. It did not bring me closer to Jesus, and therefore, was not a movie I enjoyed. Even though it was going against most people, I made up my mind to stop watching Marvel and be careful about what I watch.

And that is why I won’t be seeing Beauty and the Beast. I know that homosexuality is a thing in our world today that is growing. But that doesn’t mean I need to encourage it by paying money to see a movie that encourages it! I choose to keep my money and my time and not go to see it.

I hope that this post opened your eyes and challenged you to have virtue and high standards against what you watch. Here are some articles that inspired this post that you should go read.

Don’t take the movies, tv shows, songs, articles, books, etc that you see/read/hear lightly. They have influence on your life, and you can choose what you watch. You have the power to say no.

Plugged In Review

Girl Defined Post

Photo cred: Stock Snap

9 thoughts on “To Watch or Not to Watch?

  1. Hey caitlyn, I wrote a message i’d like to share.i it’s titled the power secret. Well that will be all till ‎i’m through with my exams. I’m writing my final exam in high school. That’s great, right?. Pray for me because i’ve decided not to follow the trend of cheating during this exam and believe that God can help me. I’ll send the message to you. By the way, what does caitlyn mean? I’m just being curious. Love from, Boluwatife 

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I’ve also decided not to watch Beauty and the Beast in theaters. I am not afraid that it will convince me that homosexuality is okay. However, I do not want it to be normalized for me or for anyone else. The main reason I am not going, though, is that I do not want to support a children’s movie that has this type of content.

    Thanks for taking a stance!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was amazing!! I thought about writing my own blog post on this movie… but I feel like I don’t know enough about it. I knew about the homosexuality (very, very sad) but that’s about it. I’m also not ok with the magic in the movie… of course, what Disney movie doesn’t have magic? I’ve pretty much steered clear of Disney since about 3 years ago.
    Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you for taking such a bold stand for Jesus in this! I know that being set apart is not always easy or popular, but a quote that I once heard says “what’s​ popular is not always right, and what’s right is not always popular”. Keep up the good work!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

