{ Kisses from Katie Book Review }

I finally read the book Kisses from Katie, and let me tell you it was so amazing. It’s been recommended to me before, and I’m so glad that I read it.

Here’s a bit of a summary:

Katie had the seemingly “perfect” life – popular highschooler, a sweet and cute boyfriend, and was about to graduate and go to college. Her future was basically planned out, because it’s what everyone usually does.

However, God turned her world upside down with a trip to Uganda. He showed her the need for Christ, and for His amazing love. She was only going to stay a year and return to the US for college. But God was changing her heart to do as He wished.

Katie has now started the Amazima ministries, and is married to a man that she met while in Uganda who actually grew up in her hometown!

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“I don’t always know where this life is going. I can’t see the end of the road, but here is the great part. Courage is not about knowing the path. It  is about taking the first step.”

“It takes awhile sometimes, coming out of the dark place. Sometimes GOd and I come out into a desert and he has to carry me through that too. Sometimes I slip a lot on the way out and He has to keep coming back to get me. Always, on the other side is something beautiful, because He has used the hard place to increase emy sense of urgency and to align my desires with His.”

“He [God] doesn’t ask me to take them all but to stop for just one, because as I do it for one of “the least of these” I do it for Him (see Matthew 25:40). I felt deep in my spirt that He was teaching me to care for the one person in front of me. Stop for the little boy with white hair and scabs covering his body, stop for the baby girl with feces covering her dress, so weak that she can’t hold up her head. stop and love the ones right in fron of me and trust Him with the rest.”

I think that my main takeaway from Kisses from Katie (summed up haha) is this:

We must look around. Look at the people who are huring RIGHT IN FRONT OF US. God has placed us strategically so that we can reach out to those we know right now. The lonely girl in class, the sad person at work, your moody boss. Reaching out is a decision. It’s a mindset. It’s a lifestyle that shines Jesus to all whom we know. And it’s your choice. Will you reach out? Will you choose to love? ❤

Also, Katie gave her life to Jesus and He did such amazing things with her!! When I live in full surrender, not holding ANYTHING back, Jesus { w i l l } use me in amazing ways – not to draw attention to myself, but to draw attention to Him.

We need to realize this: OUR LIVES ARE SHORT. It’s a rough but oh-so true reality. We only have 1 life that will soon be past – only what’s done for Christ will last.

Love ya’ll! Hope you all have a blessed day! ❤

God bless!

~ Caitlyn 🙂

7 thoughts on “{ Kisses from Katie Book Review }

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I have been excitedly anticipating this blog post ever since you mentioned writing it!
    It definitely did not fail to disappoint. I love ‘Kisses from Katie’ and Katie Davis’s ministry. You did an excellent job capturing the beauty and authenticity of her book!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kisses from Katie was one of my all time favorites! Have you heard her new book is coming out this October! Also if you loved this book you should read Miracle on Voodoo Mountain, similar story! Let me know if you get a chance to read it, love to read your review

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

