Interview With David Carter From The Coronation

Hey everyone! So this post is a bit different from most posts I do – it’s a part of the amazing Livy Jarmusch’s blog tour for her brand new fiction book, The Coronation! In honor of this awesome occasion, I did an interview with one of the characters from the book, David Carter, a break-out pop sensation who is still a teen.

This is an interview that I did with Livy & she gave me the answers as if she were David! Obviously, this isn’t an official interview, but is more of a way to celebrate the book and have some fun! Also, to give you all a peak into one of my favorite character’s lives! Let’s get started!

Caitlyn: Hi there David! Thanks for joining me today! Can you introduce yourself to the readers?

David: Yep! My name is David Carter and I’m the lead singer for a fairly new pop group, called Kennetic Energy.

C: How long have you been singing?

D: Well, my Mom says I’ve been singing since before I could talk. But I don’t remember getting really serious about my music until twelve, when I learned guitar, and started messing around with song writing.

C: What’s it like being a major pop star?

D: Basically, it’s just being able to get to do what you love, every single day of your life! I’m still not used to the title ‘pop star’. I think that sounds a little weird. I mean, I’m just David, the kid from Kentucky who loves to play music with his friends! But now, instead of performing for my dogs in the garage, we’re performing for thousands of people in sold-out stadium tours across the US. It’s pretty crazy.

C: What is your favorite hobby besides music?

D: Hmm, good question! I’m actually somewhat of a boring kind of a guy. If I’m not playing or writing music (which is pretty much all of the time!) then you can find me reading or hanging out with my friends. (Yeah, totally exciting, right?)

C: If you had a day to yourself how would you spend it?

D: A day off actually sounds really nice right now! Our schedule has been getting crazy busy. So hmm, a day all to myself, to do whatever I want? I think I would spend it back home in Cross Creek, just hanging out with my friends, having a BBQ in the backyard, attacking each other with squirt guns, or something fun like that. Or, if you’re talking about doing things away from home, I’d take my Mom on a private jet to Italy for a few days. She’s always wanted to go to Italy, so I think that would be a dream come true for her. If my schedule ever slows down enough for us to go, I’m totally gonna take her.

C: What is Tarsurella and the Palace like?

D: Tarsurella is pretty sweet. I haven’t been to a lot of European countries yet, but Tarsurella is definitely one of my favs! The downtown district is super whimsical and old-fashioned. They’ve got a shop where you can buy fudge and post-cards, and see characters dressed up, reenacting Tarsurella’s ancient history. But the Palace? The Palace is definitely the crowning jewel. It’s the must-see tourist stop for any American, for sure! There are really no words to describe the Palace. But since I’m a songwriter, and writing is supposed to be in my blood (except for when massive writers block sinks in!) I think I’d choose these three words to describe it: Charming, awe-inspiring, and unforgettable.

C: What’s your favorite part of being a singer?

D: Really, I’m all about the music. I feel like lyrics and melodies are somehow strung into my DNA. It’s just a part of who I am. For me, playing and writing music is like breathing. I wouldn’t be able to live without it. I know a lot of musicians say this, and it sounds chiche, but it’s true. I’m somewhat of an awkward introvert, so music really helps me express what I would never be able to say otherwise. I don’t know if I can really pinpoint a “favorite” thing, because I love the entire process. From the first moment inspiration strikes, to finding the perfect chords, crafting the lyrics, sharing it with the band, recording it in the studio, and then sharing it with our amazing fans. It amazes me that our music resonates so powerfully with the listeners and that they feel we’re relate-able. That’s the magic of music, for ya!

C: What’s your favorite food?

D: My Mom’s lasagna.

C: Who is your musical inspiration?

Oh, good question! I’ve had a lot of musical influences over the years, but I think the most powerful in my life has been Switchfoot. Although our style is quite a bit different than theirs, I love how deep and meaningful their lyrics are, even though they’re like, a rock band. So yeah, defiantly Switchfoot!

Thanks so much for doing this interview with me David!

And thanks to YOU for reading this! I had the amazing privilege of being able to pre-read and help Livy edit The Coronation & lemme tell you it was amazing! I won’t tell you too much about it yet, I have a review coming this weekend! Definitely go check it out, it’s on Amazon in paperback + Kindle! Check it out here!

Prince Addison is only several weeks away from inheriting the Kingdom of Tarsurella. The entire Palace is ablaze with excitement, as the Royal Family prepares for the event of a lifetime. Despite the exciting event which is near at hand, Addison and his younger siblings (all seven of them!) must carry on with their daily activities. Addison’s sisters, Princesses Bridget, Chasity, and Hope, have their struggles with being iconic European starlets of a modern day monarchy. The teen heiresses grace magazine covers, smile for photoshoots, and gracefully glide through important interviews–until a certain American popstar arrives on the scene. Kennetic Energy, the wildly popular band from the United States, is chosen to play at Addison’s Coronation. David Carter, the band’s handsome lead singer, fumbles through awkward moments with Princess Hope–in front of the cameras. When an embarrassing rumor sparks that Princess Hope is dating the young fellow, she is determined to get the band fired from their Royal gig. Meanwhile, Princess Chasity is dealing with her own fragile affairs of the heart. Her new security guard, Hanson Fletcher, is completely captivating, yet entirely frustrating. She attempts to keep the entrance of her heart firmly protected, while following the wisdom of Proverbs 4:23. But can she be successful in guarding her heart, from her security guard?  

2 thoughts on “Interview With David Carter From The Coronation

Leave a Reply

