A Lifestyle of Praise

I figured it was time to share with ya’ll some stuff Jesus has been teaching me. 🙂 So, in this post, I just want to share my heart & how God has been personally challenging me.

I’m doing a read the Bible in a year plan, and I recently finished Job + am now about halfway through Psalms. A HUGE theme that Jesus has been showing me throughout all of it is this: how grateful & worshipping these people are toward God.

Take Job, a man who literally lost everything. EVERYTHING. Yet, He never charged God of wrong or said a bad thing against Him. Rather, as soon as all of these bad things came upon Job, he said blessed be the name of the Lord.

{ Job 1:20-22 } At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
    and naked I will depart.[c]
The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;
    may the name of the Lord be praised.”

In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.

Then, there’s David. When Saul was hard after him, trying to kill him, David cries out to God & then praises Him. Yup that’s right. While David’s house is surrounded by people out to get him, he says, “I’m going to praise God!”

{ Psalm 59:14-17 } They return at evening,
    snarling like dogs,
    and prowl about the city.
They wander about for food
    and howl if not satisfied. But I will sing of your strength,
    in the morning I will sing of your love;
for you are my fortress,
    my refuge in times of trouble.

You are my strength, I sing praise to you;
    you, God, are my fortress,
    my God on whom I can rely.

It’s crazy how much we have (& I have) yet we never thank God for it. Sure, we do it occasionally, and on Thanksgiving, but I’m talking about a lifestyle of praise. Praise always. ALWAYS.

Turning your bad times into blessings, turning the mess into a message, & taking your story + using it for God’s glory. Cause here’s a fact: I am blessed. You, my friend, are blessed.

I often complain, & am not grateful, as I’m sure we all struggle with being thankful at times. Even though I’m extremely blessed, it’s easy to overlook for whatever reason.

Here’s my challenge to you, the one reading this:

Every morning, say thank you to God for being alive & for other various blessings.

Even if you live a hard life.

Even if you struggle to find hope for the future.

Even if you feel like giving up

CHOOSE TO PRAISE.

Why do I tell you to do this, even though it probably sounds crazy to most people?

Because this: { 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 } Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

You guys! It’s God’s will to praise Him! & it frees us and makes us come alive! It brings a whole new light to our lives! Let’s all make a commitment to praise. to strive to live a lifestyle of praise. Believe me when I say I know it’s hard. But we are in this together. God will give you the strength to keep smiling & praising through life’s messiness.

4 thoughts on “A Lifestyle of Praise

  1. I love this!

    One thing about praising God even in the hard times is that if we look on our lives with thankful outlook, we’re more likely to be happy too. I mean, our lives on this earth are never going to be perfect! So why should we constantly worry about having more, doing more, seeing more? What we have is the ultimate blessing because we are alive and we know God loves us. I’m not saying this outlook is easy… But it’s certainly worth it!

    Great post! I really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gracious thank you for your long & love filled comment! That is soooo true a life lived thankfully & joyfully certainly is not easy bio it’s so worth it in the end. I’m so glad I could encourage you!! Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

