My Life is Not My Own

God has been showing me lately that my life is NOT MY OWN.

Each day, each breath, each second, belongs to Him, for He gave it to me.

He has been showing me not to even waste a day.

Live & love as if each day is your last, because you can never get it back.

As I write this post, a song I used to sing in church comes to mind, called I Give Myself Away.

The specific line I thought of is this:

My life is not my own. To You I belong. I give myself, I give myself, to You.

It’s all for Him. God made us on purpose & for a purpose. He didn’t make us so that we can waste our time on temporal things. He made us to live for a greater reason, His reason.

This may seem a bit overwhelming, and if you’re anything like me, you might be wondering just how you can shine God’s light each day.

Wherever you are, wherever you go, God has you here for such a time as this, just like Esther. She had purpose, and  so do { y o u }

Esther 4:14: For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?”

It comes down to this: who do you know? Who has God placed in your life that you can reach out to?

Do you go to school? Well, you can strive to reach out to the outcasts who are also your classmates, and smile and genuinely thank your teachers.

Do you have a job? Maybe you talk to people on the phone or in person? Well, whenever you talk to people, you can strive to have a cheerful and Godly disposition.

Maybe you’re homeschooled and go to a co-op? Reach out to people there! Smile at new kids, invite some of your friends to church.

I know I said it already, but I’m gonna say it again: God has you here for such a time as this.

We all know people who we can reach out to. We are meant to help each other out. We aren’t meant to simply love people and then not help them find Jesus. We are meant to love others, but also tell them about Jesus & living for Him. If we don’t tell them, who will?

Ezekiel 3:18 says this:When I say to a wicked person, ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn them or speak out to dissuade them from their evil ways in order to save their life, that wicked person will die for their sin, and I will hold you accountable for their blood.

We all know people who need Jesus or who need to go deeper in Him. Stop for a moment and think of some of those people in your life. Then realize this: if we don’t help them along and tell them about Jesus and how they can live righteously, then their blood will be on our hands. Yup. That’s right.

My pastor mentioned that verse a month or two ago and it honestly scared me. We had taken pieces of paper with names of lost people or people who aren’t walking fully in the light and nailed them to our church’s cross. We committed to pray these people into the church and fight for their salvation. It takes commitment. It takes bravery. It takes stepping up and saying my life is not my own. It takes us being strong and inviting them to church. And even if they say no or just maybe, it takes more prayers. More hope. More perseverance.

The salvation of those you know is so worth it. It’s more than worth it. Because Jesus is worth { e v e r y t h i n g }

Will you step up and love?

Will you surrender your life to Jesus?

Will you live each day as if it’s God’s?

Will you live & love like each day’s your last?

Photo credit: Stock Snap

2 thoughts on “My Life is Not My Own

Leave a Reply

