A Call to Anguish

I don’t normally do things like this but this morning my friend shared a video with me that is super powerful and I felt I should share it.

You see we will never begin to change this world until we let God break our hearts for what breaks His. Until we truly pray and ask God to give us his heart for this lost world. We all need to look up from our phones & step away from our wants &go and seek Jesus. Seek how he would have us change this world. Without doing this how will we know? Without compassion in our hearts from the heart of God how will we ever truly love others?

Click the link below to watch an amazing video. It’ll only take up 7 minutes of your day but I hope and pray and know it’ll impact you.

Live loved!

Caitlyn

13 thoughts on “A Call to Anguish

  1. Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the Children of Men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name you are Mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression you will not be burned up the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of Peace and not of evil to give you a Future and a Hope.

    1John 4:16-19 And we have known and believed the Love that God hath to us. God is Love and he that dwelleth in Love dwelleth in God and God in him. Herein is our Love made Perfect that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is so are we in this World. There is no fear in Love but Perfect Love casteth out fear because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made Perfect in Love. We Love Him because He first Loved us.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those scriptures are so beautiful and truthful. I still agree with the video because I believe that although God doesn’t want us to live in sadness or affliction He does want to give us His heart for the world. If we don’t have a brokenness before going out into the world to witness we won’t be affective. We need to have a burden and a love for others not that holds us down and grieve us but that motivates us. Thanks for sharing those scriptures!

      Like

      1. Yes God uses everything in our lives for good when we Love Him including our Hardship but it is Slander to even say that Believers do evil to bring good out of it (Romans3:8) and to deliberately cause someone to suffer or to grieve is evil.
        I have seen people who have suffered turn away from God not to Him and because they believe it was Him who caused their suffering they have fleshy fear and not Love for Him. They also have become bitter and twisted and very withdrawn and do not reach out to help others.
        Jesus chose to suffer for us because of His great Love, God did not make Him or cause His suffering and nor does He cause ours, see link and Scripture below.
        Link- https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/summer-camp-blues/
        Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the Children of Men.
        Blessings – Anne.

        Like

      2. That is all very true & I think I didn’t explain what I meant quite enough. My opinion from what I’ve learned from God is that when my heart is for someone or something such as a lost friend I will feel sorry for them & my heart will want to help them. When I realize that my lost friend is going to hell & want something better for them that will make me want to fight in prayer and help them. So it’s not staying in a burdened state of mind but letting that burden empower me to make a change. As Abby said sometimes we have to be broken to help someone. I’m sorry if this doesn’t make sense I’m still figuring out what it means to me as well. Thanks for your input!

        Like

      3. What you said and what is claimed on the Video is not the same as what the Woman on the link you shared said. You wrongly claim that it is God who causes us to be Broken and in Anguish and this is not True as the Scripture I shared with you above fully confirms.
        Satan controls this World and has the right to put us to the Test as he did Jesus, Job, Paul, Peter etc and we live in a fallen World although with the presence of The Holy Spirit, so Life Happens good and bad including Accidents, Sickness and death, also when we follow Jesus He told us we will be Hated, Persecuted and that we may even be Martyred but our Eternal reward will be great.
        God does not willingly Afflict us although we reap the evil we sow until like the Prodigal Son we repent and this is God’s Discipline, we will also be chastised by the Body of Christ if we continue to Sin.
        Do you hurt and wound Children to see them suffer so you can control them?
        Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the Children of Men.
        Blessings – Anne.

        Like

      4. I think my outlook on this topic is like the video but a little less harsh. Im not saying we need to live in anguish. As I have thought about this and learned after posting I’ve realized it’s more of a compassion on others that we need to have. We need to see the reality that people are hurting lost && broken and go and do something about it. John 15 v. 22 tells us to love others as Christ loves us. That means giving our lives as He did to love. Not being held down by feeling sorry for others but making a change where we are. As I’ve said before it’s a topic I’m stukk learning about and That is confusing so sorry if this doesn’t make sense. Its just my personal view. Oh and I believe that joy is a huge part of our lives! We have that joy from Jesus and use it as we reach out to others in compassion.

        Like

      5. Also we do need to have a love for others like Christ, so that starts with feeling sorry for them but then not letting that stop us from helping. Its the fuel we as humans need to go serve. ❤

        Like

  2. ^ replying to the comments above, my personal beliefs & experiences is that God loves us & wants us to live in peace + joy. All of the verses mentioned are GREAT! He died & rose from the grave to give us HOPE & LOVE, & because we have this hope & love, we are called as His followers, to share this with the world! The Lord has personally convicted me through His spirit of being so self-centered & selfish & focusing only on MY joy & peace, that I missed His command for me, to leave my whole life behind & pick up my cross & follow Him – to show the world this love too! Sometimes that cross is heavy & is a big load but that doesn’t mean I should live in sadness or grief because I have this big load (aka a heavy burden to love those hurting), but rather I should rejoice because I know (1.) God has set me free & loves me (2.) I can share this with the world & (3.) He is emptying me of myself & filling myself with His love! So I agree with you, Caitlyn! God must rid us of our fleshy desires & His spirit must convict us with the calling He has placed on our lives. Sometimes we must be broken for Christ, to lead others to healing FROM Christ. It is a personal experience with God. As we surrender our hearts & desires to God, He can empty us, mold us, convict us, burden us & EMPOWER us to go into the world fully & fearlessly for His glory! We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. Thanks for this, girlie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen amen AMEN!! It’s a hard balance to strike so I really appreciate your comment! We should have that burden for others and not ignore what is going on in the world around us and I guess that’s what I meant. I in no way meant we must live held down by these things but let them give us a passion as we seek to shine the light of Jesus to the world! As with most of the bible we need a balance – not letting burden and anguish sadden us and hold us back and also not ignoring the world. We need to let God’s heart give us a passion for those around us. Thanks for your thoughts!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry to dredge up an old conversation, but I just came across the discussion following the posting of “A Call to Anguish,” and I wanted to weigh in. I personally love the video and find it to be an incredibly needed wake up call to the church at large in the West as we’ve slowly (but surely) begun slipping into a Health and Wealth Prosperity versuon of the Gospel, which we find nowhere in Scripture. If anything, we find Jesus promising His disciples hardship and difficulty in this life (see Matthew 10:22, Mark 8:34-38, Luke 6:20-38, 2 Timothy 3:12, etc.). But as has been stated, we know that joy is to be found deep within the Believers life. Joy and Anguish are not opposites, however; they are not two entirely unrelated things. True joy is found in God Himself, not in our circumstances. So we need not fear suffering or difficulty or anguish as though those things prohibitor prevent joy in our lives; rather, they create the stage upon which Jesus can be seen as our Supreme Treasure! For example, in Acts 4:13-31, we find the Apostles arrested, interrogated, and beaten — all for healing a lame beggar man — and what is their response? Rejoicing!! And again in Acts 5:41, we find them “rejoicing that they had been considered worthy to suffer shame for His name.” So while I think I understand the context of disagreement with this video that has been expressed, and absolutely agree that our lives as Believers are to be marked by joy and hope and peace and such, I don’t see how sharing in the holy anguish of our God negates any of that. In fact, I see that it enhances it. It can be so easy to slip into a MAN-centered theology (Jesus came and died for ME, He rose again for ME, He’s preparing a mansion in heaven for ME, He’s returning again one day for ME), and yet we must be watchful that we remain in Truth: a GOD-centered theology (Jesus came and died for the Father’s glory, He rose again for the Father’s glory, He’s preparing mansions in heaven for the Father’s glory, He’s returning again one day for the Father’s glory). God’s primary concern is NOT that we would be happy and safe and comfortable. Joy is definitely a BY-product of all that He is and all He has done, but it’s not the PRIME-product… God’s main concern is that He would receive the glory due His name. We can see this all throughout Scripture — in fact, that is THE Story of Scripture! If anyone would like to discuss this further, please let me know, or if you’d like more resources on this very topic, I’d be happy to share. Thanks for your time, and again, sorry to dredge up an old conversation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

