// Loving the Lost //

So, my last post , A Call to Anguish got a mixed response. I think because I didn’t thoroughly explain the topic of having a burden for the cause of Christ. This is why I am writing this post today. This is my view, based on what the Lord has personally shown me. No, it’s not a popular message these days, but it’s one I feel called to share. 🙂

A few months ago I went to a prayer meeting for the nations. We watched a video about a country that was ruled by Islam. As I watched, I saw kids who were the age of 16 going on suicide missions and not knowing if they would come back alive. I saw toddlers, and elementary school-age kids, being taught how to hold a gun. All for the cause of Islam. It was really sad, and terrible, that people younger than me were being taught these things.

After watching the video, me and the other girls had a very somber but passionate time of prayer. Because of this time of prayer & the video we watched, I was inspired to start praying for lost nations every night. We all set goals for ourselves to pray for these people around the world who don’t have the Gospel like we do.

Sometimes, we get caught up in ourselves. I know I do. I forget those around me. I forget how blessed I am. I don’t have compassion on everyone.

If I hadn’t watched the video about the lost people, I wouldn’t have had a broken heart for these people. I didn’t stay in that, though. I let the brokenness fuel my prayer. We all did.

{ This } is what I mean by being burdened for Christ. It’s not a literal burden that drags you down, such as sin, depression, anxiety, etc. Rather, it’s a fuel that gets you going to pray and do something about the wreck and mess in our world.

Don’t you think God cares about the lost and hurting in this world? If He does, we should too.

I think that to truly love those around us & help them, we must have compassion on them. We must love our neighbor as ourselves (Matthew 22:39). God commanded us to go and to preach the gospel to all the nations (Matthew 28:16-20). To truly love others, we need to know what they are going through. We need God’s heart for them. His heart that has an everlasting love and compassion on them.

Honestly, this is a tough topic to unravel. I have barely scratched the surface. What I hope to get across today is this: we must live in denial of ourselves, our wants, and our lives. We must give it all to Jesus, love Him with our everything, and then go show that love to others. We need to look up from our electronics, and get outside of ourselves.

Matthew 16:24-26 : Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.

For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

Did you know there are 17.8 million orphans in the world today? Source

Also, that there are estimated to be 27-30 million slaves? Source

Don’t we all have friends who don’t know Jesus? Don’t some of us have jobs and co-workers who are lost as well?

There’s a lot of bad things going on in the world today. We must know that, but not stay there or let it drag us down. We can make a change. One day at a time.

I’m not saying you have to make a huge change. What I’m saying is that we have love inside us. What are you doing with that love? Are you reaching out to lost friends? Are you passionately & consistently praying for the lost (whether in your life, or around the world)? Are you striving to live righteously each day? Are you looking at others through the lens of love, and through God’s eyes? Do you have compassion, love, and a burden for others? Do you let that burden inspire you and be your fuel to pray and go love?

Trust me, I’m still working on this. God’s still teaching me what it means! I don’t fully know what it means to sacrificially love, but I’m trying to learn.

The time is { N O W } We are here for a reason. To make a change for Jesus. Don’t sit still when you can go. I’ll leave you with a quote that describes this topic of being burdened for Christ very very well:

Being burdened for the lost DOESN’T MEAN you have to lay around in bed all day, crying or walking around depressed because you aren’t doing “great things” for God. But being burdened for the lost means you DO SOMETHING RIGHT WHERE YOU ARE. It means you go out & show love to those hurting & broken. It means you shine the light of Christ for all of the world to see: through your words, your actions, your social media accounts, the books you read, the movies you watch…. let them see JESUS (hope, peace, restoration, love, joy, beauty, rest) in YOU. It means you let His Holy Spirit guide you to who to serve & encourage & love on a day to day basis & you obey. – Abby Rose, Truly Beautiful Ministries

Check out my awesome friend Abby’s post on this topic!

 

Photo credit: Stock Snap

4 thoughts on “// Loving the Lost //

  1. Very good thoughts, Caitlyn! Keep wrestling with these things; it may not be popular, and it’s not easy, but it’s good and necessary for us as Believers!

    “Can we follow the Savior far
    Who have no wound or scar?”
    – Amy Carmichael

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really important topic, and I’m glad to see you tackle it. Your approach was really nice— it wasn’t too harsh or condescending, but at the same time, you were very clear and articulated your beliefs well. I may be a bit biased, since I agree with what you said, but I thought I’d give the compliment anyway. 🙂 Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

